A look at the new ITIL Practitioner Qualification

The ITIL Practitioner qualification was announced by AXELOS in March 2015 for a February 2016 release, opening up another higher level of guidance on adopting and adapting the ITIL framework.

The qualification is designed as the next step for ITIL Foundation qualification holders – those who have learned the basics of IT Service Management (ITSM). The Foundation qualification provides holders with the knowledge of the ‘what’ and the ‘why’, whereas the Practitioner qualification provides the ‘how’ – applying the theory to the practical side of the workplace.

The ITIL Practitioner qualification will focus on four key areas:

  • It gives practical guidance on Continual Service Improvement (CSI), one of the lifecycle stages in ITIL. This allows users to maximise the benefits from the adoption and adaption of ITIL.
  • It improves the capacity of individuals in the business to adopt ITIL in their day-to-day roles.
  • It makes use of emerging technologies such as the role of automation, real-time reporting and cloud-computing.
  • It makes use of other philosophies, frameworks and best practises such as Lean, Agile and SIAM.

One of the exciting areas of the Practitioner qualification is how it fits in with the AXELOS CPD scheme – completing the qualification will earn you 15 points towards your ITIL CPD subscription (of 20 required for the badge). The certification will also count as 3 credits in the ITIL certification scheme and may be counted towards achieving ITIL Expert status.

In addition to covering the three key areas of improvement initiatives (Change Management, Communication and Measurement & Metrics), the ITIL Practitioner guidance follows 9 Guiding Principles:

  • Focus on value
  • Design for experience
  • Start where you are
  • Work holistically
  • Progress iteratively
  • Observe directly
  • Be transparent
  • Collaborate
  • Keep it simple


Does the Practitioner qualification replace the Foundation qualification?

No, the Practitioner qualification provides individuals with a higher level of guidance by applying theory to the practical workplace.

What do I need to take the Practitioner qualification?

You need to be ITIL Foundation qualified.

What is the Practitioner exam based on?

The exam follows three key areas: the CSI approach, Guiding Principles and Critical Competencies.

What type of exam will it be?

The exam will be open-book and consist of scenario-based multiple choices supported by a case study.

When will the qualification be available?

ITIL Practitioner will be available from February 2016.

Questions? Comments?

We’ll be ha!ppy to answer any questions you have – feel free to give us a call on +44 (0)1202 736373

Project, Programme and Risk Management Best Practice– Video Bytes | SPOCE

Latest News

Latest Offers

Why Spoce?

Resources & Downloads

  • Evaluation Resources

    PRINCE2 eLearning, MSP Self-study, PM Guides, DSDM Passport...

  • Free Resources

    PRINCE2 Exam Simulation, Quick Reference Guide, Interactive MindMap, SPOCE Mini-Method, Risk Checklist ... PRINCE2 Business Case